Happy Mothers Day to you.

24930_374004802291_126627_n

Happy Mothers Day to you. I love and admire you quite, both as a mother and a woman. It is wonderful to see you embracing so many wondrous things. Things like learning, and growing, and experiencing, and changing, and loving. It is inspirational to see you admit to making mistakes, and sometimes “getting it wrong”. I feel privileged to be a part of your journey, as your firstborn, the mother of your first grandchild and now, as your friend.

Happy Mothers Day to you. I have absorbed you in so many ways. Ways I am still discovering. Ways like how to feel love and empathy. How to swear like a sailer. How to yell and shout and scream, and how to get my point across quietly and concisely, with genuine feeling. How to accept that crying IS okay. How to feel proud at the shiny sink and clean floors and also, how to accept that the washing will wait until the end of this chapter. How to love Denver and Diamond. How to devour books. How to forgive and how to love my family.

Happy Mothers Day to you. Some of these teachings will make you proud, and some will make you cringe. All of these make me, me. For that I am grateful. Because in being me, I am hoping to assimilate the best of you.

Happy Mothers Day to you.

 

About Yaahooserious

I am a daughter, mother, friend, reader, blogger, and photographer, who loves sharing good wine, talk and food. Cultures, both my own and others, are of huge interest to me. People, words, history, art, traditions and food, I want to absorb it all. View all posts by Yaahooserious

Leave a Reply

