How can I.

tv

I want to write. I want to take beautiful, moving, and meaningful photographs. I want to see things and meet people and eat food that is totally different from my own norm. I want to die leaving a legacy of wonderful stories that may, or may not, inspire my children, grandchildren and my great grandchildren. I want to inspire myself. I want no regrets. I want to turn the ‘I want’ into a series of ‘How can I?’, ‘I will.’ and finally, ‘I have.’

Dad, I know I am quoting you and I know I probably drive you spare with the lack of ‘How can I?’ in my vocabulary. I know that I am often found lacking in the motivation department, while I am overflowing with  ‘want’. Maybe I am more like some people than I thought. Maybe change scares me more than I like to admit. Maybe the thought of failure is holding me back in a way that I would scoff at ,were it a sibling or anyone else but me. Maybe my victim-of-circumstance glasses need to come off and maybe I just need to get on with it.

‘It’ being life. Travel. People. Words. Pictures. Time isn’t stagnant but my waiting is. In my head it will all just happen before I am too old to enjoy it. Things will just slot into place without me having to go out and make them fit. Opportunities will fall into my lap while I sit here and grow old, and stale, and bitter. Twenty-five and ancient. No, it is meant to be twenty-five and learned. Or at least twenty-five and LEARNING.

How can I? Not a question but a statement of intent. So here’s to you Dad. Here’s to my future generations who may, or may not, be inspired. Here’s to me.

How can I.

About Yaahooserious

I am a daughter, mother, friend, reader, blogger, and photographer, who loves sharing good wine, talk and food. Cultures, both my own and others, are of huge interest to me. People, words, history, art, traditions and food, I want to absorb it all. View all posts by Yaahooserious

Leave a Reply

