Two shakes of a lambs tail.

Photo taken at Marlee’s second birthday party.

This time two years ago I was in labor. I was in agony, I was scared and I wanted to murder her father for contributing to the reason I was in so much pain. I had never met her. I had felt her move, seen a grainy picture of her shape and I was spending hours awake at night worrying about caring for a newborn.

This time last year I was getting ready for Marlee’s first birthday. She could barely shuffle along the floor on her backside. She only said the words ‘Nana’ and ‘Dadda’. I was spending hours awake at night worrying about caring for a toddler.

Now is the eve of her second birthday. She is walking, talking, acting up, being an angel, singing, dancing and trying out full sentences. She is baking with me, running, playing ‘lady’ in my high heels, having tea parties and voicing her opinion. I am still spending time awake thinking about the terrible twos, what school she will go to, first kiss, learning to drive, hating me because she is a teen, hating me because I am not cool, hating me because I cant do ‘mum’ right. But no longer worrying. Que sera sera, I am doing my best and that is what counts. She has love, comfort and health. She knows this and I know she knows this because last night as she was going to bed, she said ‘Love you Mummy’ unprompted for the first time.

She is showing me just how quickly life moves along and how necessary it is to keep up. How important it is to stay on top of things, and how unnecessary the house work really is when the sun is shining outside and the water in the paddling pool is beckoning.

Blink and I miss it. ‘Told you so.’

 

About Yaahooserious

I am a daughter, mother, friend, reader, blogger, and photographer, who loves sharing good wine, talk and food. Cultures, both my own and others, are of huge interest to me. People, words, history, art, traditions and food, I want to absorb it all. View all posts by Yaahooserious

2 responses to “Two shakes of a lambs tail.

Leave a Reply

