‘Why should I listen to you?’

“Because I have a voice!’

Dialogue from The King’s Speech 2010.

I love this comment. So many times we hear but we do not listen. Marlee gets so wound up if I ‘mm-hmm’ her when she is trying to tell me something. ‘Mum’ she says, ‘Mummy!’ and the frustration in her tone is clearly audible. She is a constant reminder for me to listen when someone is speaking to me. She is nearly two years old and already she knows that her voice deserves to be heard. I wish I still had the same confidence in my voice sometimes..

 

About Yaahooserious

I am a daughter, mother, friend, reader, blogger, and photographer, who loves sharing good wine, talk and food. Cultures, both my own and others, are of huge interest to me. People, words, history, art, traditions and food, I want to absorb it all. View all posts by Yaahooserious

One response to “‘Why should I listen to you?’

Leave a Reply

